Butterflies

I am obsessed with painting butterflies these days.  A beautiful yellow and black Tiger Swallowtail flew into my garden and grazed on the Lantana.  Fortunately I had my sketchbook which resulted in this painting.  I was so pleased with the final product that I started chasing anything that flies around the garden.  My father (the guy below who looks like angry Santa) picked up a book of butterflies at the used book store and I am hooked on them.   So beautiful.  They are like flying gems.  I have been working on a series of butterflies around the world and trying to capture their vibrant color and subtle (and not so subtle) markings.  It’s like trying to paint stained glass!  I am not sure yet what I will do with them.  Certainly a series of greeting cards but maybe something else.  Meanwhile I have been collaborating with a therapist on a game teaching positive thinking and exercises for kids so I am going to have to put the brush down for a while and focus on our “Bee” Positive game and get a working model.  But, I thought I would share the series so far.  Meanwhile, any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

