I Love This Plant: Santolina

When planting my front yard landscape, I wanted a very drought tolerant plant for an area that gets lots of sun and very little attention.  It also had to have yellow flowers if it flowered at all.  I was willing to compromise with the flowers since this really had to be a desert plant.  So I was thrilled to find two very scrawny santolina (aka lavendar cotton) plantlets at Lowe’s this spring.  It was the middle of May and a little late for planting something I intended to ignore but these were small plants and I hoped they would survive the summer.  I am glad to report that these little champs are going strong and about 10 times the size they were when I planted them.  I love the grey green foliage and the little pom poms of flowers.  They have required not one drop of water after 60+ days of over 100 deg weather and drought.  They appreciate poor soil and are evergreen.  I am thinking about replacing the entire lawn with these plants. OK, my husband Randy would draw the line at that but I am slowly taking over by planting new beds every year and he hasn’t even noticed!  HAHAHAHAHAHA!   The yard will soon be mine all mine!

Happy Gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

