I Miss this Plant: Summer Casualties

I would love to tell you that I never lose a plant and that I have an innate sense of where every plant will thrive best and give them the exact care they need.  Unfortunately this is not the case.  I have always loved Forsythia.  The bright yellow blooms in late February/early March signal spring has arrived and brighten up any landscape when not much else is going on.  I knew I wanted one, I just wasn’t sure where to put it.  So I bought a small shrub about 3 years ago and nursed it in the back yard until I had a  home for it. This is the blooms in Year 2:  When I finally got around to landscaping the front yard this year, I used a yellow and purple colorscape and finally had a home for my Forsythia shrub.  I am not a fan of shaping this shrub and that’s just as well as the yellow blossoms bloom on last year’s wood.  So in December when it was dormant, I gently transplanted my Forsythia into a large bed in the front surrounded by Yellow Knockout Roses.  The plan was that the Forsythia would bloom and then when it’s leaves came in in the summer, the Knockout Roses would take over the show.  Great plan right?  Well, you know what they say about the best laid plans of mice and gardeners don’t you?

Needless to say I have lost my Forsythia to the summer heat.  As a new transplant, it should have had enough time to re-acclimate since I moved it in December and it was beautiful this spring:

But this summer has been brutal even by Texas standards and although the knockouts are great and most of the salvia (Mealy Cup Sage) I grew from seed are doing fine, sadly my beautiful Forsythia did not survive.  Here is what it looks like now:

So long for now but I will be getting another.  I may just put it under the tree for a little shade next time.

 

Happy Gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

 

 

Leave a Reply

