Taking Better Garden Photos

Today was a glorious event.  Labor Day.  Scent of BBQs wafting through the neighborhood, sunshine, and perfect 73 deg F weather.  That is correct – the temperature dropped 30 degrees overnight!  Now that is cause for celebration.  I saw my first Monarch Butterfly of the season.  They come through this area during their migration to South America.  It was stopping for a quick meal on our trumpet vine.  Here is my painting.  It is much better than the photograph I took.

As an artist, gardener and now a blogger, I am always looking for ways to improve upon my skills.  One area that I really need guidance is in taking better photos.  I love to record my garden triumphs and taking photos of my work is always a challenge to me.  Almost every gardener I know is familiar with Dave’s Garden, a gardening website that is a treasure trove of plant and gardening information.  Dave’s Garden is currently partnering with Horticulture Magazine on a photo contest.  To kick it off, they have an excellent article sharing some tips and tricks for good photography:  http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/3302/

Photogenic Gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

