Garden Surprises

Generally I hate surprises.  Really.  I would rather know what I am getting for Christmas in October so that I can anticipate it until Christmas Day.  Even when we go out for dinner, I want to know where we are going before we leave the house.  Seriously don’t like surprises.  Strangely, I don’t mind them in the garden.  Unexpected events there are either bonuses or lessons and I am grateful for either.  That’s why these little gems were especially welcome.  I thought I had pulled out all the tomato plants I put in this spring in August when they got all brown and crispy.  But I missed this tiny plant which really didn’t amount to much this season until now.  I came across these tiny red cherry tomatoes when I was puttering in my cutting garden.  I popped them right in my mouth straight from the vine – a bonus for not using pesticides.  They were so sweet and tasted like the best part of summer.

For those of you who asked, this is a close up of my statue under my Lady Banks Rose.  She is the Blessed Virgin Mary or as I affectionately refer to her, the BVM.  It is to her that my garden is dedicated.

Happy gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

