A Gardener’s Tale

Whoever said the simplest things bring the greatest pleasure
was on to something.  Take today.  In the middle of the afternoon, I took a long  soak in a bubble bath, washed my hair, put on my pajamas and took a 2 hour nap.  The nap was not the extraordinary part of my experience.  It was the bubble bath.  You see, it’s the first bath or shower or even a good handwash that I have partaken of since Saturday night.

Here’s how this happened. Saturday I was at a craft fair selling my art pieces and when I got home I took a quick shower, ate dinner, and went to bed.  Sunday I started experimenting with some new  designs and was using enamel paint.  This
sticks to your nails like nail polish since that’s kinda what it is and I didn’t
want to use acetone to get it off since my cuticles have been very dry and it
would be a whole lotta hurt I wasn’t up for.  The best way is a long soak in hot water and rubbing it off gently.  So I went to bed promising myself I would do that in the morning and while I was at it, I could get in some much needed weeding beforehand as I don’t like to wear gloves and the dirt gets under your nails and everyone knows the best way to clean your nails is to do the dishes or wash your hair.
So I added weeding to the chore list and washing my hair to the grooming
list.

So it rained Monday and like a big couch potato I laid around and read a book and listened to the rain and it seemed logical while I was curled up on the couch to not take a bath since I couldn’t weed in the rain and so therefore had to postpone washing my hair and so why get my nails clean anyway – and well you get the picture.  My
to-do list and the time management manipulations I had planned into the order
of tasks was holding me hostage.

Tuesday, this morning, I awoke to sunshine and a brisk wind following a 4 hour thunderstorm the night before.  Perfect. So, I got up, threw on some old clothes, weeded my grubby hands off until about 2:30 this afternoon, then came in, rinsed off, and soaked in the tub for about 45 minutes washing both my tender cuticles and lackluster hair; dried off, put on a clean pair of pajamas and took a two hour nap.  I am no longer a slave to a well laid plan but mistress of my own destiny once again!

In the days to come I will be regaling you with my weeding experiences and even have a ssssss-urprise guest to introduce.  But today’s lesson is that planning is for chumps!  So enjoy the moments of your life, don’t take yourself too seriously, and never, ever, let your well laid plans get the best of you!

Extemporaneous Gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

One thought on “A Gardener’s Tale

  1. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back down the road. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

