SSSSurprise Visitor

While out weeding the other day, I ran across a small garden snake.  I see them all the time.  They are anywhere from 6-12″ long and grey.  They have tiny little heads and I have never been bitten and they are not venemous.  They are quite common around here and I love seeing them.  They are a good indicator that your garden is healthy.  I don’t use pesticides at all anymore.  Instead I spread compost twice a year, water regularly during the summer and add fertilizer to my heavy feeders – like roses.  I have a very varied selection – not too many of one plant in the same area.  And I encourage predators like ladybugs, ants, birds, lizards, toads, and yes, snakes.  This is a great time to see them up close, especially in the morning.  They are not hibernating yet but it is just cold enough in the morning that they are very slow.  Handling them a little actually warms them up and it gives you a good chance to get to know them up close.  Now I am not advocating handling any snake you come across, morning or any other time.  Especially not in Texas where we are blessed with all four venemous snakes native to North America.  I am saying that these snakes are harmless to people and beneficial to your garden and to welcome the sight of them.  Come to think of it, I am more the visitor than he is.

Happy gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

