I Love This Plant: Confederate Jasmine

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wish the internet had smell-o-vision!  Someone should invent it just to smell the jasmine every spring. This is my favorite time of year especially because of the jasmine.  It blooms this time of year adding dainty white blossoms to the dark green glossy leaves.  But don’t be fooled!  These tiny flowers bring the perfume.  I have planted jasmine several places in my shade garden selecting the hardiest of the jasmines – Confederate Jasmine.  Winters are pretty mild here but we had a pretty brutal one in 2010-2011 and I lost an Asiatic jasmine but my Confederates survived with only some die back.  And the drought last summer didn’t even effect them.  They are a little fussy needing shade and acid soil for which I have to amend the alkaline clay we have around here.  But, this time of year makes it so worth it!  I have the doors and windows open just to enjoy the scent wafting in on the breeze.  It is truly heavenly! Makes me glad to be in the South.  In addition, jasmines are evergreen, drought tolerant, good climbers though not invasive and a must on my plant list!  Since my garden is so shady, I have cut “windows” in the fence where possible, covered the hole with fencing wire and planted a jasmine.  They love it!

Heavenly gardening and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

