Happy Birthday to Winken, Blinken, and Nod

April 24 was the birthday of three very special babies.  The three eggs in our Robin’s nest hatched! (see https://gardenlifedesigns.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/rockin-robins-a-closeup-on-the-domestic-life-of-nesting-parents/ )   I have been watching them closely from my kitchen window and I saw both Mr. and Mrs. Robin flying back and forth to the nest with mouthfuls of tasty worms.  My binoculars showed little yellow mouths opening above the edge of the nest every time a parent flew in for a delivery so between visits I ran out to take a few pics.  Bad photography notwithstanding, are they not the cutest little things ever?!  Winken is strongest, Blinken is right there in the fray competing for choice morsels but I am a little worried about Nod.  He doesn’t seem very strong and I never saw three little mouths open at the same time.  We’ll see if he can make it in the days and weeks to come.  I searched the ground beneath the nest for the pretty blue egg shells but our wily parents seemed to have spirited them away so as not to alert predators.  I have included previous pics of the eggs cause they’re so cute! Here they are:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy birding and remember to “bee” positive!

Leave a Reply

